Eden Prairie City News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Contact Us    Subscribe to CITY NEWS

News items produced by the City of Eden Prairie Communications Division are intended for members of the news media and the community at large.

2017 Human Rights Awards Presented

Post Date:May 03, 2018
(l-r) 2017 Human Rights Award Winners: Dave Jacobson, Bob Roepke and Len Simich, SouthWest Transit; Joan Howe-Pullis, Trish Sullivan Vanni and Sarah Steichen Stiles, Interfaith Circle (IC); Hayden Bunn; Saleem Adam, IC; Crystal Winston; Shehla Mushtaq, IC
2017 Human Rights Award Winners

Members of the Human Rights and Diversity Commission announced the 2017 Human Rights Award winners at the May 1 City Council meeting. The award recognizes a local individual, youth, nonprofit organization and/or business who have worked to create an inclusive community spirit through actions, activities or programs.

In addition to the award presentation, the Eden Prairie Manifesto was recited to commemorate its 25th anniversary. The following Human Rights Award winners were recognized for upholding the values of the manifesto:

Individual Award Crystal Winston
Crystal upholds the values of the Eden Prairie Manifesto by bringing a sense of hope and dignity to families in Eden Prairie and by being a fierce advocate for change in our community. Crystal serves Eden Prairie families through her work as the Licensed Social Worker at PROP. She advocates for vulnerable residents as she works alongside them to provide practical problem solving, advocacy and resource navigation services. Crystal is eager to engage our entire community in conversations about bias, diversity and the importance of recognizing that a person should not be defined by their life circumstances. 

Youth Award  Hayden Bunn
Hayden upholds the values of the Eden Prairie Manifesto by striving to ensure that every Eden Prairie resident feels like their voice is valued in our community. Hayden has a passion for lifting up peers who may be struggling. He is known for his willingness to challenge injustice in our community and his drive to inspire change. Whether it’s through his work as a soccer coach for the Eden Prairie Soccer Association, his experiences as a student at Eagle Ridge Academy or the time he spends listening to the needs of his peers, Hayden is a shining example of the power of compassionate leadership.

Nonprofit Award  Interfaith Circle
Interfaith Circle upholds the values of the Eden Prairie Manifesto by celebrating the commonality and diversity of our faith traditions in order to foster understanding and acceptance. Interfaith Circle brings residents together to encourage discussion about what it means to live in a multi-faith, multi-cultural community through events such as "Who is My Neighbor?" and their annual Thanksgiving Gathering. Interfaith Circle makes our community stronger by encouraging community members to explore and engage with each other’s traditions and beliefs.

Business Award SouthWest Transit
SouthWest Transit upholds the values of the Eden Prairie Manifesto by striving to provide accessible transportation to all of Eden Prairie’s residents. Through the SouthWest Prime program, SouthWest Transit allows residents to maintain their independence and access to our community. The program offers ADA-compliant vehicles, discounted fares for seniors and disabled veterans, and provides customers with various ways of arranging transportation, therefore reducing the barriers residents face as they navigate through our community. SouthWest Transit works every day to ensure every member of our community can thrive.

Nominations for the Human Rights Award can be made by persons on behalf of themselves or others. Nomination materials are made available in January each year and award recipients are selected by the Human Rights and Diversity Commission in March.

Past Human Rights Award Recipients

Return to full list >>