Human Rights and Diversity Commission

The Human Rights and Diversity Commission acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council on matters of diversity, civil and human rights, and the Americans with Disabilities Act.

The Commission has been involved in such important social issues as identifying needs of the immigrant population and finding solutions to “bullying” in local schools, and partners with other Eden Prairie entities to present community events throughout the year.

The Commission presents Human Rights Awards annually in four categories: youth, individual, non-profit group and business.

Human Rights and Diversity Commission meetings take place the second Thursday of every month at 7 p.m. on the lower level of Eden Prairie Center mall.

The City staff liaison for the Human Rights and Diversity Commission is Megan Yerks.

HRDC Members
  • Asad Aliweyd
  • Tyler Aman
  • Sana Elassar
  • Gregory Leeper – Chair
  • Katherine Lucht
  • Shahram Missaghi – Vice Chair
  • Leslie Philmon
  • Philip Skeie
  • Rehmatbai Sumra
Student Members (2019-2020 School Year)
  • Najma Ali
  • Stavan Bhakta
  • Winifred Halm De-Souza
  • Nicole Mayer
  • Caprice Steidle