Human Rights and Diversity Commission

The Human Rights and Diversity Commission acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council on matters of diversity, civil and human rights, and the Americans with Disabilities Act.

The Commission has been involved in such important social issues as identifying needs of the immigrant population and finding solutions to “bullying” in local schools, and partners with other Eden Prairie entities to present community events throughout the year.

The Commission presents Human Rights Awards annually in four categories: youth, individual, non-profit group and business.

HRDC Members
Student Members (2019-2020 School Year)
Asad Aliweyd
Najma Ali
Tyler Aman
Stavan Bhakta
Sana Elassar
Winifred Halm De-Souza
Gregory Leeper – Chair Nicole Mayer
Katherine Lucht
Caprice Steidle
Shahram Missaghi – Vice Chair
Leslie Philmon
Philip Skeie
Rehmatbai Sumra


The City staff liaison for the Human Rights and Diversity Commission is Megan Yerks.

Charter Statement
HRDC Meetings and Documents